Of Note
December 16, 2010
Borromeo Quartet releases new CD on January 14, 2011

The Borromeo String Quartet's latest album, called "As It Was, Is, and Will Be" was artist-edited by Nicholas Kitchen and Gunther Schuller for a joint GM Recordings/Living Archive release on January 14.  The album is unique among classical music releases in that it features both LIVE-IN-CONCERT and STUDIO versions of Gunther Schuller's masterpiece, String Quartet No. 4.

The disc also offers Béla Bartók's String Quartet No. 4, and "Lamentations and Satire" and recent work by composer Mohammed Fairouz, a swiftly rising star in the classical firmament.

The CD release concert, being presented by the TENRI Cultural Institute of New York on January 21 at 8pm, will feature the World Premiere of Mohammed Fairouz's CHORALE FANTASY.

TENRI Cultural Institute is located at 43A West 13th Street. Tickets can be purchased by calling 212.645.2800 or by visiting their website at http://artsat.tenri.org/1011season/010711.shtml



Béla Bartók
String Quartet No. 4

1. Allegro
2. Prestissimo, con sordino
3. Non troppo lento
4. Allegretto pizzicato
5. Allegro molto

Gunther Schuller
String Quartet No. 4

6. Lento moderato
7. Allegro energico
8. Lento assai

9. Lento moderato
10. Allegro energico
11. Lento assai

Mohammed Fairouz
"Lamentation and Satire"

12. Lamentation
13. Satire





Back to List
Back to Top